Low Graphic Mode

Today starts with this message: “The system is running in low graphic mode.”

LOW GRAPHIC MODE

clicking on OK, it opens new message:

run in low graphic mode

Here this message stays, I can’t press OK now.

So I searched internet, found the solution to install nvidia drivers. i have nvidia drives- 304. but I install it again for updated version with the command

$sudo apt-get install nvidia-current      // More stable & tested version
$sudo apt-get install nvidia-current-updates     //More up-to-date version

But still problem not solved!!

So with the help of Ubuntu mailing list, I look at the problem in /var/log/Xorg.log file. There  I got to know that It didn’t parse 10 line of xorg.conf file.

2014-06-15 18.18.44

Oh crap! I remember I edited that file last night 😛 lol

I added a single line there something like.. section input device.  After that I shut down my system and today I got this message……uhhh!

I opened xorg.conf file which is in /etc/X11. Undo my changes I did last night. and then I reboot.

Yeah….its working now!! 🙂

Now I can see the above message was also showing me the clues about problem. Looking carefully above messages, Both messages didn’t have windows decorations, i.e title bar, menu bar . So I could guess the problem would be with windowing system i.e X11.  xorg.conf file is the configuration file which configure the X server of X11 window system when we reboot. X Window System, /etc/X11/xorg.conf file was used to store initial setup for X.

Caveat: MY ADVICE IS TO BACKUP xorg.conf BEFORE you play with it, so if you encounter any problems the next time X starts (usually at reboot or logout) you can rescue the situation by changing it back!!

 

About Jasleen Kaur

Hi, I am Jasleen kaur, a Computer Science Student.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

