Do you want to Change Start Up Sound in Ubuntu?

I had a boring default ubuntu start up sound : P  so I was thinking of changing it to some pleasing music, so here is place of my ubuntu sounds.

$cd /usr/share/sounds/ubuntu/stereo

There will be a file with name system-ready.ogg 

Replace this file with your .ogg file kep the name ‘system-ready.ogg’  same . You need have sudo permissions for this 😉 

Actually I have an mp3 song so I took that  song and cut the clip I want using ONLINE MP3 CUTTER  and then I convert to .ogg format using command line converter mpg321.

First install mpg321

 $ apt-get install mpg321 vorbis-tools

then convert .mp3 track to .ogg track,

$mpg321 input.mp3 -w - | oggenc -o output.ogg -
About Jasleen Kaur

Hi, I am Jasleen kaur, a Computer Science Student.
This entry was posted in Linux. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

