[Solved] Brightness issues in Vaio E-series

I have Vaio E-series laptop. After installing Ubuntu 12.04, its brightness control keys (fn keys) were showing a brightness bar, but brightness was not changing 😦
==>  This solution works fine for Ubuntu 12.04 and 14.04 .
So, I first installed nVIDIA drivers. Make Sure you have installed nVIDIA drivers on your Linux, also check your configuration of nvidia Drivers with X.org from nVIDIA Server Settings .
Screenshot from 2015-01-10 14:00:41Screenshot from 2015-01-10 14:00:51
 
 
 
Then edit grub file:
$sudo gedit /etc/default/grub
Here,  I changed this line
GRUB_CMLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
to
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor"
then, 
$sudo update-grub 
and reboot the system.
But it doesn’t work 😦  😥
After doing this, function keys were not displaying any brightness bar 😦
Then I UNDO my changes.
…………………
Now, I found another solution to edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf
But this file was not found on my system.  :-O
So I made a new file xorg.conf in /etc/X11/
and write this content:
Section "Device"
 Identifier "Device0"
 Driver "nvidia"
 VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
 Option "NoLogo" "True"
 Option "RegistryDwords" "EnableBrightnessControl=1"
 EndSection
After this I update grub with:
$sudo update-grub
reboot now,
and it works!!  🙂 😀 😛
Now I can change my brightness with function keys.  🙂
 
Cheers!
Jasleen
About Jasleen Kaur

Hi, I am Jasleen kaur, a Computer Science Student.
This entry was posted in Linux and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [Solved] Brightness issues in Vaio E-series

  1. albertcoder says:

    fortunately the first solution worked for me 🙂 Thanks for blogging

Leave a Reply

